Max was the Right Teammate for My Home Renovation Olympics

As a woman who is currently competing in the 2014 Home Renovation Olympics, I am always looking for the right teammates for each home improvement event.

My Other Tools Were Hulky, Bulky Weightlifters

I was almost knocked out of contention in the compulsories of the window framing event because, after trying various saws, nothing performed the way I needed it to. My circular saw was too big, heavy, and clunky to maneuver around the arena.

I Needed a Figure Skating Partner

I needed a teammate that could get into tight spaces and make close cuts. Because I would be standing at the top of a tall ladder, I was seeking a tool that could be safely operated with one hand. That definitely narrowed down the field of contenders.

A Tool That Wouldn’t Cost Me an Arm and a Leg

Here’s where the Dremel Saw-Max came in. I had had my eye on this athlete for several months. When the cost of adding this world-class saw to my Olympic team finally dipped below $100 this week, I immediately sought it out. Every store I visited after the price drop was completely sold out of the Dremel Saw-Max. Thankfully, Amazon followed suit with the deep discount and had the tool in stock. Max and I were now partners. We were headed to the Olympics!

Why Max Made My Olympic Team

There is more than one reason why Max was heavily recruited for my Olympic Team. He is a multi-sport athlete. You name an event and Max will make it to the finals. The Dremel Saw-Max can cut wood, metal, plastic, tile, drywall, and pretty much anything encountered in a home renovation competition. Max has never been eliminated from any contest. He is always going for the gold.

Entering Our First Elimination Event

Right out of the box, it was DIY “do or die” time. Even though Max and I had just been paired together, and had had no time to practice for our event, our instincts took over. Each of us did the job we had been training for all of our lives. We performed as never before, totally synchronized, totally in the DIY moment. It was a beautiful thing.

Taking Our Place on the Medal Stand

When all was said and done, we had scored a perfect “10.” And the Olympic crowd went wild. Tears streamed down my face while standing on the podium with Max to receive our first ever home renovation gold medals. This was a moment I had dreamed of all my life. The thrill of victory, no agony of defeat… because Dremel doesn’t do defeat. Come to think of it, neither do I.

Photo Credit

You may also like...

Comments

Will you be competing in the 2014 Home Renovation Olympics? What’s your event?

  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • Graceonline Feb 01, 2014 @ 6:33 pm
    P.S. Almost forgot to congratulate you on receiving the Review of the Day award! Well-deserved!
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Feb 01, 2014 @ 7:10 pm
    Appreciated. Thank you!
  • Graceonline Feb 01, 2014 @ 6:32 pm
    Well, I'm sold! If ever I have my own fixer-upper again, I will be looking at this saw. Cute presentation too. : )
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Feb 01, 2014 @ 7:10 pm
    Hoping you will need a Saw-Max (because that will mean you are making your home dreams come true). :-)
  • LynnKK Feb 01, 2014 @ 5:48 pm
    I can hear the Olympic percussion - boom, boom, ba boom boom.
    Max appears a likely fellow. Great job and congratulations on Review of the Day!
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Feb 01, 2014 @ 7:08 pm
    And now I'm hearing that distinctive percussion, too. Thanks for that Olympic moment. :-)
  • susan-zutautas Feb 01, 2014 @ 1:46 pm
    Oh how I love the way you write! I'm sold, sign me up for a dremel saw. Congrats on your very very well deserved review of the day!
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Feb 01, 2014 @ 2:56 pm
    Thanks for loving my writing. That's even better than a gold medal. :-)
  • Wednesday_Elf Feb 01, 2014 @ 8:57 am
    Most deserving of the recognition of 'Review' of the Day'. Tell 'Max' he must share the 'applause' and 'flowers' with you as you skate around the winners' arena. :)
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Feb 01, 2014 @ 9:19 am
    Your word picture just took me on that victory lap. Made me smile. Thank you! :-)
  • tonyleather Feb 01, 2014 @ 8:21 am
    Appears to be a very useful tool indeed!
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Feb 01, 2014 @ 9:16 am
    Totally versatile. A Max of all trades.
  • Merrci Feb 01, 2014 @ 7:33 am
    Very clever review. It does look like a great product! Congrats on review of the day!
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Feb 01, 2014 @ 7:50 am
    Thanks for letting me know we won that honor. Max is going to be thrilled when I tell him.
  • esmonaco Jan 31, 2014 @ 12:09 pm
    Another creative lens by you!! Very well done Thanks for this Olympic Review!!!!
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Feb 01, 2014 @ 7:49 am
    Thanks for coming to our event and cheering us on. We loved having you in the stands at our moment of victory. :-)
  • Sylvestermouse Jan 31, 2014 @ 11:20 am
    What a truly fun review to read!!! Now I know I need a figure skating partner too :D
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Jan 31, 2014 @ 11:26 am
    Thinking of you with that new figure skating partner made me imagine your skating costumes (with glitter glue hearts). Not sure Max will go for that. ;-)
  • Brite-Ideas Jan 31, 2014 @ 2:10 am
    9.99 for Artistic Impression! (yes I'm actually a former figure skater!!) - very creative :)
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Jan 31, 2014 @ 4:51 am
    I should have known there was a skater in our midst. Maybe you can give Max and I a few tips. We're thrilled with the score you gave us. Thank you!
  • happynutritionist Jan 30, 2014 @ 4:07 pm
    I think this is a Gold Medal performance:-) I haven't decided yet whether to participate.
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Jan 30, 2014 @ 6:43 pm
    The Olympics just won't be the same without you. I'll bet there is an event with your name on it. :-)
  • CorrinnaJohnson Jan 30, 2014 @ 3:32 pm
    Love your creativity! I would LOVE one of these tools!
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Jan 30, 2014 @ 6:44 pm
    Thanks for the love!
  • Jan 30, 2014 @ 2:24 pm
    Great teamwork! A gold-medal analogy to make a fun read even for those of us who shouldn't partner with power tools.
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Jan 30, 2014 @ 3:10 pm
    Perhaps we can find an event for you that doesn't involve spinning blades. :-)
  • Susan52 Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:35 am
    Such a timely approach to a great review. You and Max get a 10 from this judge!
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:39 am
    That "10" means a great deal coming from you. Appreciated!
  • sybil-watson Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:00 am
    I love the way you wrote this - how clever!! Dremel tools are so versatile and this one looks like it's no exception.
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:14 am
    Totally "Dremelicious" (my Max and all of my Dremel tools). :-) Thanks for appreciating my writing style.
  • Wednesday_Elf Jan 30, 2014 @ 10:48 am
    SO glad you & your 'Max' were champions in your competition! What a marvelous way to describe your new favorite home renovation tool. Loved it.
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:10 am
    Thank you! I had fun coming up with this theme. I've got Olympic fever to the Max. ;-)
  • LynnKK Feb 01, 2014 @ 5:49 pm
    Oh my!
Advertisement

Lens of the Day

How to Make a Simple Cake Using a Rice Cooker

Spring has officially arrived and there's a sense of anticipation in the air. To many Japanese, cherry...

Advertisement

Make your page on Squidoo!

Get started